Filed Under: 


The Texas Sports Hall of Fame was organized in 1951 by the Texas Sports Writers Association. Each year the honorees are inducted into the Hall of Fame at a gala dinner. (The second such fete in 1952 was headlined by, “That filmland athlete, Ronald Reagan, and his actress wife, Nancy Davis,” The Dallas Morning News, June 9, 1952.)

The hall was originally in Grand Prairie in the Dallas-Fort Worth area. The Hall of Fame was closed in 1986 for financial reasons, but in 1991 it was reopened in Waco. In addition to memorabilia, the new location also houses archives.

Under the current selection process, dues-paying members of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame can nominate any number of individuals. (Anyone can become a member.)

The selection committee, chaired by Dave Campbell, founder of Texas Football Magazine, reviews all nominees and creates the “Official Voting Membership” ballot.

Ballots are then mailed to the voting membership, former Texas Sports Hall of Fame inductees and the media selection committee. The results of the balloting are announced in the fall with the induction banquet following in the winter.

Texas Sports Hall of Fame 2014-2018
Click to enlarge . . .
For 2007–2012, click here . . .

For honorees for other years, click here . . .