2019 - 2021

Below are listed the principal federal and state government holidays, Christian, Jewish and Islamic holidays and festivals; and special recognition days for 2019 to 2021. Technically, the United States does not observe national holidays. Each state has jurisdiction over its holidays, which are usually designated by its legislature. The list was compiled partially from the Texas Government Code, the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, Astronomical Phenomena 2019, Astronomical Phenomena 2020, and Astronomical Phenomena 2021 published jointly by the U.S. Naval Observatory and the United Kingdom Hydrographic Office. 

2019

   
New Year's Day Tuesday, Jan. 1
Epiphany Sunday, Jan. 6
Sam Rayburn Day Sunday, Jan. 6
Confederate Heroes Day Saturday, Jan. 19
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, Jan. 21
Valentine's Day Thursday, Feb. 14
President's Day Monday, Feb. 18
Ash Wednesday Wednesday, March 6
Texas Independence Day Saturday, March 2
Texas Flag Day Saturday, March 2
César Chávez Day Sunday, March 31
Former Prisoners of War Day Tuesday, April 9
Palm Sunday Sunday, April 14
Good Friday Friday, April 19
Passover (Pesach), first day of Saturday, April 20
Easter Day Sunday, April 21
San Jacinto Day Sunday, April 21
Ramadan, first day of Monday, May 6
Mother's Day Sunday, May 12
Armed Forces Day Saturday, May 18
Memorial Day Monday, May 27
Ascension Day Thursday, May 30
Shavuot (Feast of Weeks) Sunday, June 9
White Sunday — Pentecost Sunday, June 9
Flag Day (U.S.) Friday, June 14
Trinity Sunday Sunday, June 16
Father's Day Sunday, June 16
Emancipation Day in Texas (Juneteenth) Wednesday, June 19
Independence Day Thursday, July 4
Lyndon Baines Johnson Day Tuesday, August 27
Islamic New Year Sunday, Sept. 1
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 2
Grandparents Day Sunday, Sept. 8
Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) Monday, Sept. 30
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) Wednesday, Oct. 9
Sukkot (Tabernacles), first day of Monday, Oct. 14
Columbus Day Monday, Oct. 14
Halloween Thursday, Oct. 31
Father of Texas Day Sunday, Nov. 3
General Election Day Tuesday, Nov. 5
Veterans Day Monday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, Nov. 28
First Sunday in Advent Sunday, Dec. 1
Hanukkah, first day of Monday, Dec. 23
Christmas Day Wednesday, Dec. 25

 

2020

 

 
New Year's Day Wednesday, Jan. 1
Epiphany Monday, Jan. 6
Sam Rayburn Day Monday, Jan. 6
Confederate Heroes Day Sunday, Jan. 19
Martin Luther Kinng Jr. Day Friday, Jan. 20
Valentines's Day Friday, Feb. 14
President's Day Monday, Feb. 17
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, Feb. 26
Texas Independence Day Monday, March 2
Texas Flag Day Monday, March 2
Primary Election Day Tuesday, March 3
César Chávez Day Tuesday, March 31
Palm Sunday Sunday, April 5
Passover (Pesach), first day of Thursday, April 9
Former Prisoners of War Day Thursday, April 9
Good Friday Friday, April 10
Easter Day Sunday, April 12
San Jacitno Day Tuesday, April 21
Ramadan, first day of Friday, April 24
Mother's Day Sunday, May 10
Armed Forces Day Saturday, May 16
Ascension Day Thursday, May 21
Memorial Day Monday, May 25
Shavuot (Feast of Weeks) Friday, May 29
Whit Sunday — Pentecost Sunday, Mat 31
Trinity Sunday Sunday, June 7
Flag Day (U.S.) Sunday, June 14
Emancipation Day in Texas (Juneteenth) Friday, June 19
Father's Day Sunday, June 21
Independence Day  Saturday, July 4
Islamic New Year Thursday, Aug. 20
Lyndon Baines Johnson Day Thursday, Aug. 27
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 7
Grandparent's Day Sunday, Sept. 13
Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) Saturday, Sept. 19
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) Monday, Sept. 28
Sukkot (Tabernacles), first day of Saturday, Oct. 3
Columbus Day Monday, Oct. 12
Halloween  Saturday, Oct. 31
General Election Day Tuesday, Nov. 3
Father of Texas Day Tuesday, Nov. 3
Veterans Day Wednesday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, Nov. 26
First Sunday in Advent Sunday, Nov. 29
Hanukkah, first day of Friday, Dec. 11
Christmas Day Friday, Dec. 25

2021

New Year's Day Friday, Jan. 1
Epiphany Wednesday, Jan. 6
Sam Rayburn Day Wednesday, Jan. 6
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, Jan. 18
Confederate Heroes Day Tuesday, Jan. 19
Valentine's Day Sunday, Feb. 14
President's Day Monday, Feb. 15
Ash Wednesday Wednesday, Feb. 17
Texas Independence Day Tuesday, March 2
Texas Flag Day Tuesday, March 2
Palm Sunday Sunday, March 28
Passover (Pesach), first day of Sunday, March 28
César Chávez Day Wednesday, March 31
Good Friday Day Friday, April 2
Easter Day Sunday, April 4
Former Prisoners of War Day Friday, April 9
Ramadan, first day of Tuesday, April 13
San Jacinto Day Wednesday, April 21
Mother's Day Sunday, May 9
Ascension Day Thursday, May 13
Armed Forces Day Saturday, May 15
Shavuot (Feast of Weeks) Monday, May 17
Whit Sunday — Pentecost Sunday, May 23
Trinity Sunday Sunday, May 30
Memorial Day Monday, May 31
Flag Day (U.S.) Monday, June 14
Emancipation Day in Texas (Juneteenth) Saturday, June 19
Father's Day Sunday, June 20
Independence Day Sunday, July 4
Islamic New Year Tuesday, August 10
Lyndon Baines Johnson Day Friday, August 27
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 6
Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) Tuesday, Sept. 7
Grandparents Day Sunday, Sept. 12
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) Thursday, Sept. 16
Sukkot (Tabernacles), first day of Tuesday, Sept. 21
Columbus Day Monday, Oct. 11
Halloween Sunday, Oct. 31
General Election Day Tuesday, Nov. 2
Father of Texas Day Wednesday, Nov. 3
Veterans Day Monday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, Nov. 25
First Sunday in Advent Sunday, Nov. 28
Hanukkah, first day of Monday, Dec. 29
Christmas Day Saturday, Dec. 25