tx almanac facebook link

CIVIC and RELIGIOUS HOLIDAYS

 

2017

These are the principal federal and state government holidays, Christian, Jewish and Islamic holidays and festivals and special recognition days for 2017, 2018, and 2019. Technically, the United States does not observe national holidays. Each state has jurisdiction over its holidays, which are usually designated by its legislature. The list was compiled partially from "Astronomical Phenomena 2017," "Astronomical Phenomena 2018," and "Astronomical Phenomena 2019," published by the U.S. Naval Observatory, and from the Texas Government Code.

In the lists below, the Jewish and Islamic dates are tabular dates which begin at sunset on the previous evening and end at sunset on the date listed here.

Confederate Heroes Day combines the birthdays of Robert E. Lee (Jan. 19) and Jefferson Davis (June 3).

Presidents' Day combines the birthdays of George Washington (Feb. 22) and Abraham Lincoln (Feb. 12).

 
New Year’s Day Sunday, Jan. 1
Epiphany Friday, Jan. 6
Sam Rayburn Day Friday, Jan. 6
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, Jan. 16
Confederate Heroes Day Thursday, Jan. 19
Valentine's Day Tuesday, Feb. 14
Presidents' Day Monday, Feb. 20
Ash Wednesday Wednesday, March 1
Texas Independence Day Thursday, March 2
César Chávez Day Friday, March 31
Palm Sunday Sunday, April 9
Former Prisoners of War Recognition Day Sunday, April 9
Passover (Pesach), first day of Tuesday, April 11
Good Friday Friday, April 14
Easter Day Sunday, April 16
San Jacinto Day Friday, April 21
Mother's Day Sunday, May 14
Armed Forces Day Saturday, May 20
Ascension Day Thursday, May 25
Ramadan, first day of Saturday, May 27
Memorial Day Monday, May 29
Shavuot (Feast of Weeks) Wednesday, May 31
Pentecost Sunday, June 4
Trinity Sunday Sunday, June 11
Flag Day (U.S.) Wedneday, June 14
Father's Day Sunday, June 18
Emancipation Day in Texas (Juneteenth) Monday, June 19
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4
Lyndon Baines Johnson Day Sunday, Aug. 27
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 4
Grandparents Day Sunday, Sept. 10
Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) Thursday, Sept. 21
Islamic New Year Friday, Sept. 22
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) Saturday, Sept. 30
Sukkot (Tabernacles), first day of Thursday, Oct. 5
Columbus Day Monday, Oct. 9
Halloween Tuesday, Oct. 31
Father of Texas (Stephen F. Austin) Day Friday, Nov. 3
Veterans Day Saturday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, Nov. 23
First Sunday in Advent Sunday, Dec. 3
Hanukkah, first day of Wednesday, Dec. 13
Christmas Day Monday, Dec. 25

 

2018

 

 
New Year's Day Monday, Jan. 1
Epiphany Saturday, Jan. 6
Sam Rayburn Day Saturday, Jan. 6
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, Jan. 15
Confederate Heroes Day Friday, Jan. 19
Ash Wednesday Wednesday, Feb. 14
Valentine's Day Wednesday, Feb. 14
President's Day Monday, Feb. 19
Texas Independence Day Friday, March 2
Texas Flag Day Friday, March 2
Primary Election Day Tuesday, March 6
Palm Sunday Sunday, March 25
Good Friday Friday, March 30
Passover (Pesach), first day of Saturday, March 31
Cesar Chavez Day Saturday, March 31
Easter Day Sunday, April 1
Former Prisoners of War Day Monday, April 9
San Jacinto Day Saturday, April 21
Ascension Day Thursday, May 10
Mother's Day Sunday, May 13
Ramadan, first day of Wednesday, May 16
Armed Forces Day Saturday, May 19
Shavuot (Feast of Weeks) Sunday, May 20
Pentecost Sunday, Mat 20
Trinity Sunday Sunday, May 27
Memorial Day Monday, May 28
Flag Day (U.S.) Thursday, June 14
Father's Day Sunday, June 17
Emancipation Day in Texas (Juneteenth) Tuesday, June 19
Independence Day  Wednesday, July 4
Lyndon Baines Johnson Day Monday, August 27
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 3
Grandparents Day Sunday, Sept. 9
Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) Monday, Sept. 10
Islamic New Year Wednesday, Sept. 12
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) Wednesday, Sept.19
Sukkot (Tabernacles), first day of Monday, Sept. 24
Columbus Day Monday, Oct. 8
Halloween  Wednesday, Oct. 31
Father of Texas (Stephen F. Austin) Day Saturday, Nov. 3
General Election Day Tuesday, Nov. 6
Veterans Day Sunday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, Nov. 22
First Sunday in Advent Sunday, Dec. 2
Hanukkah, first day of Monday, Dec. 3
Christmas Day Tuesday, Dec. 25

  

 2019

   
New Year's Day Tuesday, Jan. 1
Epiphany Sunday, Jan. 6
Sam Rayburn Day Sunday, Jan. 6
Confederate Heroes Day Saturday, Jan. 19
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, Jan. 21
Valentine's Day Thursday, Feb. 14
President's Day Monday, Feb. 18
Ash Wednesday Wednesday, March 6
Texas Independence Day Saturday, March 2
Texas Flag Day Saturday, March 2
Cesar Chavez Day Sunday, March 31
Former Prisoners of War Day Tuesday, April 9
Palm Sunday Sunday, April 14
Good Friday Friday, April 19
Passover (Pesah), first day of Saturday, April 20
Easter Day Sunday, April 21
San Jacinto Day Sunday, April 21
Ramadan, first day of Monday, May 6
Mother's Day Sunday, May 12
Armed Forces Day Saturday, May 18
Memorial Day Monday, May 27
Ascension Day Thursday, May 30
Shavuot (Feast of Weeks) Sunday, June 9
Pentecost Sunday, June 9
Flag Day (U.S.) Friday, June 14
Trinity Sunday Sunday, June 16
Father's Day Sunday, June 16
Emancipation Day in Texas (Juneteenth) Wednesday, June 19
Independence Day Thursday, July 4
Lyndon Baines Johnson Day Tuesday, August 27
Islamic New Year Sunday, Sept. 1
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 2
Grandparents Day Sunday, Sept. 8
Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) Monday, Sept. 30
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) Wednesday, Oct. 9
Sukkot (Tabernacles), first day of Monday, Oct. 14
Columbus Day Monday, Oct. 14
Halloween Thursday, Oct. 31
Father of Texas (Stephen F. Austin) Day Sunday, Nov. 3
General Election Day Tuesday, Nov. 5
Veterans Day Monday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, Nov. 28
First Sunday in Advent Sunday, Dec. 1
Hanukkah, first day of Monday, Dec. 23
Christmas Day Wednesday, Dec. 25

 

 

Texas Almanac

Texas Almanac