tx almanac facebook link

CIVIC and RELIGIOUS HOLIDAYS

 

2016

These are the principal federal and state government holidays, Christian, Jewish and Islamic holidays and festivals and special recognition days for 2016 and 2017. Technically, the United States does not observe national holidays. Each state has jurisdiction over its holidays, which are usually designated by its legislature. The list was compiled partially from "Astronomical Phenomena 2016," and "Astronomical Phenomena 2017," published by the U.S. Naval Observatory, and from the Texas Government Code.

In the lists below, the Jewish and Islamic dates are tabular dates which begin at sunset on the previous evening and end at sunset on the date listed here.

Confederate Heroes Day combines the birthdays of Robert E. Lee (Jan. 19) and Jefferson Davis (June 3).

Presidents' Day combines the birthdays of George Washington (Feb. 22) and Abraham Lincoln (Feb. 12).

 
New Year’s Day Friday, Jan. 1
Epiphany Wednesday, Jan. 6
Sam Rayburn Day Wednesday, Jan. 6
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, Jan. 18
Confederate Heros Day Tuesday, Jan. 19
Ash Wednesday Wednesday, Feb. 10
Valentine's Day Sunday, Feb. 14
Presidents' Day Monday, Feb. 15
Primary Election Day Tuesday, March 1
Texas Independence Day Wednesday, March 2
Palm Sunday Sunday, March 20
Good Friday Friday, March 25
Easter Sunday Sunday, March 27
César Chávez Day Thursday, March 31
Former Prisoners of War Recognition Day Saturday, April 9
San Jacinto Day Thursday, April 21
Passover (Pesach), first day of Saturday, April 23
Ascension Day Thursday, May 5
Mother's Day Sunday, May 8
Pentecost Sunday, May 15
Armed Forces Day Saturday, May 21
Trinity Sunday Sunday, May 22
Memorial Day Monday, May 30
Ramadan, first day of Sunday, May 31
Shavuot (Feast of Weeks) Sunday, June 12
Flag Day (U.S.) Tuesday, June 14
Father's Day Sunday, June 19
Emancipation Day in Texas (Juneteenth) Sunday, June 19
Independence Day Monday, July 4
Lyndon Baines Johnson Day Saturday, Aug. 27
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 5
Grandparents Day Sunday, Sept. 11
Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) Monday, Oct. 3
Islamic New Year Monday, Oct. 3
Columbus Day Monday, Oct. 10
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) Wednesday, Oct. 12
Sukkot (Tabernacles), first day of Monday, Oct. 17
Halloween Monday, Oct. 31
Father of Texas (Stephen F. Austin) Day Thursday, Nov. 3
General Election Day Tuesday, Nov. 8
Veterans Day Friday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, Nov. 24
First Sunday in Advent Sunday, Nov. 27
Hanukkah, first day of Sunday, Dec. 25
Christmas Day Sunday, Dec. 25

  

2017

 
New Year’s Day Sunday, Jan. 1
Epiphany Friday, Jan. 6
Sam Rayburn Day Friday, Jan. 6
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, Jan. 16
Confederate Heroes Day Thursday, Jan. 19
Valentine's Day Tuesday, Feb. 14
Presidents' Day Monday, Feb. 20
Ash Wednesday Wednesday, March 1
Texas Independence Day Thursday, March 2
César Chávez Day Friday, March 31
Palm Sunday Sunday, April 9
Former Prisoners of War Recognition Day Sunday, April 9
Passover (Pesach), first day of Tuesday, April 11
Good Friday Friday, April 14
Easter Day Sunday, April 16
San Jacinto Day Friday, April 21
Mother's Day Sunday, May 14
Armed Forces Day Saturday, May 20
Ascension Day Thursday, May 25
Ramadan, first day of Saturday, May 27
Memorial Day Monday, May 29
Shavuot (Feast of Weeks) Wednesday, May 31
Pentecost Sunday, June 4
Trinity Sunday Sunday, June 11
Flag Day (U.S.) Wedneday, June 14
Father's Day Sunday, June 18
Emancipation Day in Texas (Juneteenth) Monday, June 19
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4
Lyndon Baines Johnson Day Sunday, Aug. 27
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 4
Grandparents Day Sunday, Sept. 10
Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) Thursday, Sept. 21
Islamic New Year Friday, Sept. 22
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) Saturday, Sept. 30
Sukkot (Tabernacles), first day of Thursday, Oct. 5
Columbus Day Monday, Oct. 9
Halloween Tuesday, Oct. 31
Father of Texas (Stephen F. Austin) Day Friday, Nov. 3
Veterans Day Saturday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, Nov. 23
First Sunday in Advent Sunday, Dec. 3
Hanukkah, first day of Wednesday, Dec. 13
Christmas Day Monday, Dec. 25

  

Texas Almanac

Texas Almanac